BD & Industry · Simcere × Roche License

Forty days after Roche dropped a CD19 TCE, it licensed in another CD19/CD79a trispecific

Simcere Zaiming has licensed global rights to its CD79a/CD19/CD3 trispecific SIM0660 to Roche. Upfront US$75 million, headline total US$1.53 billion. This is the first of Simcere’s six out-licensing deals to give up Greater China entirely.

US$75M
Upfront Roche will pay for global SIM0660 rights — a preclinical asset, Greater China included
US$1.53B
Headline total excluding royalties; the R&D / regulatory / commercial tiers are undisclosed
40 days
Between Roche striking RG6382 (CD19×CD3, SLE) from its Phase 1 pipeline and this deal
1 of 6
Simcere’s first out-license to give up Greater China — the previous five all retained it
01

The Facts First

On September 1, 2026, Simcere Zaiming announced an exclusive license agreement with Roche; the same day after the Hong Kong market close, Simcere Pharmaceutical (2096.HK) issued a voluntary announcement. Roche obtains exclusive worldwide rights to develop, manufacture and commercialize the trispecific antibody SIM0660.

Key numbers

Upfront: US$75 million (entitled to receive; no announcement of receipt yet)
Milestone cap: US$1.455 billion (R&D / regulatory / commercial tiers undisclosed)
Headline total: US$1.53 billion (excluding royalties)
Royalties: up to double-digit tiered royalties
Territory: Global, including Greater China
Stage: Preclinical (confirmed by Simcere to Reuters)

The payee is Simcere Zaiming. The HKEX announcement only says “the Group”, but Simcere Zaiming’s official press release that day is explicit: Simcere Zaiming signed the agreement and is eligible to receive total payments of up to US$1.53 billion plus tiered royalties on future net sales. The only thing to note is the wording itself — at the company level it says “entitled to receive”; there has been no separate announcement that the upfront has actually been received.

The stage is confirmed: preclinical. Simcere confirmed to Reuters that SIM0660 is a preclinical product. This matches public searches: no record on ClinicalTrials.gov, none in China’s clinical trial registry, and Simcere’s “Key R&D Pipeline” table in its August 20 interim results (which has a “Preclinical” column) does not list it either.

SIM0660’s structure: a CD3-binding T-cell engager arm fused to binding domains targeting two B-cell antigens, CD79a and CD19. Per the company, indications cover B-cell–mediated diseases, including B-cell lymphoma — especially in patients previously treated with CD20- or CD19-targeted therapy — and B-cell–mediated autoimmune diseases.

Still undisclosed: the R&D, regulatory and commercial tiers of the US$1.455 billion and their triggers; rights reversion and termination terms; development decision rights. These are not “absent”, they are “undisclosed”, and must stay in the uncertainty column when making judgments.

02

Forty Days: What Can Be Said, and What Can’t

In Roche Group’s H1 2026 R&D pipeline document (status as of July 23), the “Removed from phase I” column has one line: RG6382, CD19 × CD3, SLE. Roche’s stated reason was that the molecule did not have the profile needed to advance further in this indication; SLE was its lead indication. Forty days later, Roche took global rights to SIM0660.

The timeline

2025-10 — Gazyva approved by FDA for lupus nephritis — Roche’s anti-CD20 establishes itself in autoimmunity.

2026-04 / 2026-07 — Gazyva’s SLE filing accepted, priority review in membranous nephropathy — the most mature leg keeps doubling down.

2026-07-23 · Core event — Roche lists RG6382 (CD19 × CD3, SLE) under “Removed from phase I”. Stated reason: the molecule lacks the profile needed to advance in this indication; the specific crux is not stated.

2026-09-01 · Core event — Roche obtains global rights to SIM0660, US$75 million upfront. Preclinical asset; Roche has not disclosed intended indications.

2026H2 (per registry) — First patient in the SLE Phase 1 of the P-CD19×CD20-ALLO1 allogeneic CAR-T — Roche’s CD19-containing asset still advancing.

Early 2027 (expected) — Roche FY2026 pipeline update — what code SIM0660 gets, which phase it goes in, oncology or immunology.

This is where one must rein in the claims. Roche has not yet disclosed the intended indications for SIM0660. RG6382 was a molecule aimed at SLE, while SIM0660’s public positioning is first B-cell lymphoma and only secondarily autoimmune potential. Public information cannot support calling the latter a one-for-one replacement for the former. BD from first contact to signing also usually takes far longer than forty days, and the signing is not a consequence of the termination — the two events more likely share the same internal assessment, or may even be unrelated.

What can be established is the picture the two events jointly sketch. Roche’s B-cell depletion assets on the autoimmune side number three: Gazyva (anti-CD20 mAb, the most mature leg); Lunsumio (CD20×CD3) advanced into Phase 2 in SLE, single-arm subcutaneous, 30 patients; and P-CD19×CD20-ALLO1, the allogeneic CAR-T from the Poseida acquisition, in Phase 1 in SLE, 162 patients.

All three assets include CD20. After RG6382’s termination, Roche still holds one CD19-containing molecule in autoimmunity — that CD19×CD20 dual-target CAR-T is still advancing, so “a CD19 gap” doesn’t hold up. The accurate statement is: what Roche lost was the antibody-format, pure CD19-directed hand; the cell therapy leg remains, but it is a different mode of administration, a different cost structure, a different accessibility radius.

The oncology picture is similar. Among Roche’s marketed B-cell drugs, Rituxan, Gazyva, Columvi and Lunsumio are all anchored on CD20, and Polivy on CD79b. Columvi’s supplemental filing in second-line DLBCL received a complete response letter last July, after ODAC voted 8 to 1 against the applicability of the STARGLO study population to US patients — that study enrolled only 25 US patients. The more complete the backbone, the more a handle outside the backbone is needed. SIM0660’s CD79a plus CD19 do not overlap in target with any of those five.

03

The Choice of CD79a

CD79a and CD79b are the two signaling components of the B-cell receptor. There is only one marketed CD79-class drug, Roche’s own Polivy, which targets CD79b. A 2007 study published in Blood offered a specific observation: in that comparison, anti-CD79b antibodies downregulated surface BCR and were trafficked to lysosome-like compartments, and anti-CD79b ADCs were therefore more effective than anti-CD79a ADCs.

Note the boundary of this evidence. What it proves is that in that particular set of antibody and ADC designs, the CD79a approach performed worse than CD79b; it cannot be generalized to “CD79a as a target has been eliminated by the ADC route”, nor does it directly prove that CD79a stays on the cell surface long-term.

But directionally it does suggest a question worth thinking about: an ADC must be internalized and degraded to release its payload, whereas a T-cell engager needs the antigen to stay on the surface to form an immunological synapse. The same internalization property means opposite things for the two modalities. This is a reasonable line of thought and the most plausible explanatory framework for this target combination — but it is a hypothesis. Neither the announcement nor the press release provides any data supporting it, and SIM0660 has no externally verifiable preclinical dataset in the public domain.

As of the search date, no clinical trial registration explicitly using CD79a as a therapeutic target was found. That is both the source of the “potential first-in-class” claim and means that CD79a as a TCE target is completely unvalidated in humans.

Another company claim is that SIM0660 “limits cytokine release” while inducing potent T-cell cytotoxicity. This must be read in the context of the field: CLN-978 uses step-up dosing starting at 10 micrograms to manage cytokine release syndrome, KT501 uses CD3 masking, CMG1A46 uses a low-affinity CD3 arm — almost every CD19-class TCE going into autoimmunity is working on the same problem. Simcere did use a low-affinity CD3 antibody design on its sibling SIM0500, showing this is not empty talk, but for SIM0660 it remains only a design claim.

04

What the Price Can and Cannot Tell Us

First, lay out the comparable deals.

DealDateTarget / Stage / TerritoryUpfrontHeadline total
Roche / Simcere Zaiming — SIM06602026-09CD79a×CD19×CD3 — Preclinical · GlobalUS$75MUS$1.53B
GSK / Chimagen — CMG1A462024-10CD19×CD20×CD3 — Phase 1 · Global (asset acquisition)US$300MUS$850M
Sanofi / Kali — KT5012026-03CD19/BCMA/CD3 — Phase 1 FIH · GlobalUS$180M (upfront plus near-term payments combined)~US$1.23B
UCB / Antengene — ATG-2012026-03CD19×CD3 — Preclinical · GlobalUS$60M + US$20M near-term~US$1.18B
Roche / Hansoh — HS-201102025-10CDH17 ADC — Phase 1 · ex-Greater ChinaUS$80MUS$1.53B
Ipsen / Simcere — SIM06132025-12LRRC15 ADC — Preclinical · ex-Greater ChinaUS$45MUS$1.06B
Boehringer / Simcere — SIM07092026-01TL1A/IL-23p19 — Preclinical · ex-Greater China€42M~€1.058B

Upfronts follow each deal announcement’s disclosure basis; headline total is upfront plus milestone cap, excluding royalties, in the announcement’s original currency. The deals differ in stage, indication, number of programs covered, milestone structure and royalty rates, none fully disclosed; the amounts cannot be directly used to compare asset quality or to derive the price of any single right.

Upfronts, ranked against the field

Announced upfronts, original currencies
GSK / ChimagenCMG1A46 · Phase 1
$300M
Sanofi / KaliKT501 · Phase 1 FIH
$180M
Roche / HansohHS-20110 · CDH17 ADC, Phase 1
$80M
UCB / AntengeneATG-201 · Preclinical
$80M
Roche / Simcere ZaimingSIM0660 · Preclinical, global
$75M
Ipsen / SimcereSIM0613 · Preclinical, ex-China
$45M
ATG-201: US$60M upfront + US$20M near-term, shown combined. Boehringer / Simcere SIM0709 (€42M) excluded — currency mix. These deals differ in indication, programs covered, milestone tiers and royalty rates; amounts cannot be directly compared.

What can be said: SIM0660’s upfront sits at the upper end of the preclinical, global rights tier, closest to Antengene’s ATG-201; the upfront is 4.9% of the headline total, consistent with the general structure of this set of deals.

05

On Simcere’s Side: A First Among Six Deals

SIM0660 is the first time Simcere has licensed out Greater China as well; the previous five all retained China:

The previous five — all retained China

· 2022-09-28 Almirall / SIM0278 (IL-2 mu-Fc): US$15M upfront, up to US$492M in milestones, ex-Greater China; the announcement states explicitly that “the Group will retain all rights to the product in the Greater China region”

· 2025-01-13 AbbVie / SIM0500 (GPRC5D/BCMA/CD3): option structure, cap US$1.055B, ex-Greater China

· 2025-06-16 NextCure / SIM0505 (CDH6 ADC): cap US$745M, ex-Greater China

· 2025-12-19 Ipsen / SIM0613 (LRRC15 ADC): US$45M upfront, cap US$1.06B, ex-Greater China

· 2026-01-26 Boehringer Ingelheim / SIM0709 (TL1A/IL-23p19): €42M upfront, ex-Greater China

This time it is “global”, and manufacturing is given up too.

There is a clock in the background: Simcere Zaiming filed its A1 with HKEX on January 9 this year, with CICC and Morgan Stanley as joint sponsors; after the spin-off, Simcere Pharmaceutical will still hold more than 50%. The group’s H1 2026 revenue was RMB 4.58 billion, profit for the period RMB 827 million, and cash at bank RMB 3.072 billion.

The group has ample cash, but that does not imply “this deal has nothing to do with financing” — the subsidiary’s own funding needs, risk transfer and reallocation of R&D resources are all legitimate motives, and not mutually exclusive. What can be said with certainty is that the deal also helps the spin-off listing narrative: in Simcere Zaiming’s IPO story, the TCE multispecific antibody platform is one of its three in-house platforms, and until now this line had only one external anchor, SIM0500, an option deal with undisclosed upfront; now it has become two deals, two multinationals, a disclosable upfront, and a second deal covering global rights.

06

The Other Side

1

One: what Roche just abandoned may be a class-level problem

RG6382’s termination rationale said only that it “did not have the profile needed to advance”, without specifying what. If the crux lies in the general biology of CD19-class TCEs in lupus, adding a CD79a arm will not necessarily get around it — though the crux may also lie entirely in that molecule itself. There is currently no evidence to tell the two possibilities apart.

2

Two: on progress, SIM0660 is last

CMG1A46, CLN-978, KT501, ATG-201 and Novartis’s PIT565 — at least five CD19-directed B-cell TCEs are already in humans, and CLN-978 reported preliminary clinical benefit in refractory lupus and refractory rheumatoid arthritis this June. SIM0660 starts from preclinical.

3

Three: the most concrete downside isn’t the molecule failing — it’s bought, shelved, and never coming back

No rights reversion clause appears in public information, and the buyer showed only forty days ago how fast it disposes of similar assets.

4

Four: the US$1.455 billion is a black box

No tiers, no triggers. Reading it as “money Simcere is about to receive” is a misreading.

07

What to Watch Next

1

Roche’s next pipeline update

What code Roche gives SIM0660 in its next pipeline update, which phase it is put in, and whether it sits under oncology or immunology — this will tell the outside world for the first time where it intends to use the molecule.

2

First registry appearance

When the molecule first appears in a clinical trial registry in any country — the first external proof that the preclinical package is moving toward humans.

3

Confirmation the upfront has been received

The announcement’s wording is “entitled to receive”; there has been no separate announcement that the US$75 million upfront has actually been received. Receipt confirmation matters.

And one longer-term observation to treat with more caution: the “removed” column in big pharma’s quarterly pipelines may be closer to their real gaps than the “added” column. Roche striking RG6382 in July and buying SIM0660 in September is a timing sample worth recording, but one sample does not make a pattern — it is worth treating as a lead to track, not as a conclusion.

08

Closing