Large Pharma · Hengrui · IL-4Rα Antibody / Atopic Dermatitis

SHR-1819 files for approval: the sixth entry ticket

Hengrui's anti-IL-4Rα monoclonal antibody has just had its marketing application accepted, with both co-primary endpoints met in Phase 3. But five domestic same-target products are already standing ahead of it.

652
Patients enrolled in the pivotal Phase 3 SHR-1819-301, led by Huashan Hospital's Prof. Xu Jinhua
¥385.7M
Cumulative R&D investment disclosed in the September 2026 filing announcement
No. 6
Domestic anti-IL-4Rα antibody to reach approval or review — at least four are ahead under review
$18.076B
Combined 2025 global sales of dupilumab and stapokibart (EvaluatePharma)

On September 4, 2026, Jiangsu Hengrui Pharmaceuticals disclosed that its subsidiary Guangdong Hengrui Pharmaceuticals had received an Acceptance Notice from the NMPA: the marketing authorization application for zhuotuoqibai mAb injection (i.e. SHR-1819 injection) was accepted under acceptance no. CXSS2600144, with the proposed indication "moderate-to-severe atopic dermatitis in adults inadequately controlled with, or not suitable for, topical therapies".

The same announcement disclosed the conclusion of the pivotal Phase 3 for the first time: study SHR-1819-301, led by Professor Xu Jinhua of Huashan Hospital, Fudan University as principal investigator, enrolled 652 patients with moderate-to-severe atopic dermatitis nationwide and met both co-primary efficacy endpoints, each significantly superior to the placebo control group, with good safety and tolerability. The announcement also disclosed cumulative R&D investment in the project of about RMB 385.7 million.

This is a typical positive topline announcement — conclusions only, no numbers. Response rates, between-group differences and safety incidences were all undisclosed, and the specific dose and dosing interval were not stated either. So what can be established now is that it "met the endpoints", not "by how much".

What deserves more attention is where it has landed.

01

First, see where it ranks

Before SHR-1819, at least five domestic anti-IL-4Rα monoclonal antibodies had already reached approval or marketing application:

Stapokibart (Keymed Biosciences, brand name Kangyueda) was approved in China in 2024 as the first domestic antibody against this target, and now holds three indications — moderate-to-severe atopic dermatitis in adults, chronic rhinosinusitis with nasal polyps, and moderate-to-severe seasonal allergic rhinitis in adults, the last being the world's first approval of an antibody against this target for seasonal allergic rhinitis; all three indications were included in the 2025 edition of the National Reimbursement Drug List, effective January 1, 2026.

GR1802 (Genrix Bio) had its marketing application for moderate-to-severe atopic dermatitis in adults accepted in September 2025, and for seasonal allergic rhinitis in adults in February 2026; according to reports, its atopic dermatitis application was withdrawn and resubmitted, with acceptance in August 2026.

MG-K10 (Mabgeek Biotech) had its marketing application for moderate-to-severe atopic dermatitis in adults accepted on October 30, 2025, and for seasonal allergic rhinitis on April 23, 2026; it is publicly positioned as long-acting, dosed once every four weeks.

Rademikibart (Simcere, originated by Connect Biopharma) had an atopic dermatitis marketing application accepted earlier, voluntarily withdrew it in April 2026 and resubmitted. Akeso's AK120 had its atopic dermatitis marketing application accepted in February 2026, with the company stating that the Phase 3 primary endpoint, key secondary endpoints and multiple pre-specified secondary endpoints were all met.

With these five ahead, SHR-1819 is at least the sixth domestic innovative drug against this target to reach approval or review, and the number ahead of it under review is not two but at least four.

“With these five ahead, SHR-1819 is at least the sixth domestic innovative drug against this target to reach approval or review, and the number ahead of it under review is not two but at least four.”

Add the originator dupilumab — marketed in China since 2020, with indications extending down to infants aged 6 months — and this race is now not "waiting to be developed" but "waiting to be reshuffled".

ProductChina status
Dupilumab (Sanofi)Approved in China 2020 · covers down to 6-month-old infants
Stapokibart (Keymed)3 indications approved · on NRDL, effective 2026-01-01
GR1802 (Genrix Bio)AD accepted 2025-09 · rhinitis accepted 2026-02
MG-K10 (Mabgeek)AD accepted 2025-10-30 · rhinitis accepted 2026-04-23
Rademikibart (Simcere)AD application withdrawn and resubmitted
AK120 (Akeso)AD accepted 2026-02
SHR-1819 (Hengrui)AD accepted 2026-09-04 · acceptance no. CXSS2600144

China anti-IL-4Rα monoclonal antibody lineup (public information as of 2026-09-04).

02

The molecule itself: the data aren't bad, but discount the differentiation

SHR-1819 is a recombinant humanized anti-human IL-4Rα monoclonal antibody developed in-house by Hengrui. By blocking IL-4Rα it cuts off both IL-4 and IL-13 signaling — the classic approach to type 2 inflammation. It is not a bispecific, not a conjugate and involves no delivery platform; it is simply a conventional subcutaneous monoclonal antibody.

The Phase 2 study was published in BMC Medicine in 2026 and conducted at 22 centers in China. 157 patients were randomized 1:1:1:1 to 300 mg every two weeks, 600 mg every two weeks, 600 mg every four weeks and placebo, with the 300 mg every-two-weeks arm receiving a 600 mg loading dose; topical moisturizers were mandatory throughout. EASI-75 response rates at Week 16 were 69.2%, 75.0% and 85.4% respectively, versus 37.8% on placebo, differences from placebo of 31.6%, 37.0% and 47.4%, with nominal p-values of 0.006, 0.001 and less than 0.001. EASI-90 was 53.8%, 57.5% and 63.4% vs 16.2% on placebo; the proportion achieving IGA 0/1 with at least a 2-point reduction from baseline was 53.8%, 50.0% and 65.9% vs 16.2% on placebo.

Three framing points must be made clear here.

First, the Phase 2 had no multiplicity control, and the paper uses "nominal p-values" throughout; the results can only be read as directionally clear, not as confirmatory conclusions. Second, the 37.8% placebo response rate is on the high side; mandatory moisturizer use throughout may be one reason, but sample size, patient composition and study setting also play a role — the paper contains another detail worth noting: 32.4% of placebo patients received rescue therapy, versus 0% in the 600 mg every-four-weeks arm. Third, the authors themselves explicitly wrote that cross-trial comparisons should be made with caution.

The third point is especially important, because it bears on the selling point most hoped for in this product.

On safety, the Phase 2 treatment-related adverse event rate was 45.8% vs 40.5% on placebo; any adverse events across the three dose arms were 92.3%, 90.0% and 80.5% vs 81.1% on placebo. The most common were upper respiratory tract infections at 22.5% (placebo 10.8%) and injection-site reactions at 10.8% (placebo 5.4%). Conjunctivitis occurred in 7 patients (5.8%), all in active-treatment arms, 6 of them judged treatment-related. Serious adverse events were 5.8% on drug and 8.1% on placebo; one subject in the 600 mg every-four-weeks arm died of brain herniation, judged unrelated to treatment. Anti-drug antibody positivity rates in the three dose arms were 7.7%, 5.0% and 9.8%.

These numbers come from a 157-patient Phase 2 — fine as a directional reference, not as a basis for labeling. The real safety profile depends on the 652-patient Phase 3 — and not a single number from it has been published.

One more detail: Phase 1 PK data showed that after single subcutaneous doses of 60 mg to 720 mg, time to peak was 4 to 7 days, and half-life in the 120–720 mg range was 2.88 to 5.97 days. Phase 2 steady-state data showed that both 600 mg every four weeks and every two weeks maintained stable drug concentrations, but Phase 3 steady-state exposure and trough concentrations have not been published.

03

Laying out the company and pipeline

Jiangsu Hengrui Pharmaceuticals' revenue in the first half of 2026 was RMB 15.456 billion, down 1.94% year on year; net profit attributable to shareholders was RMB 4.465 billion, up slightly by 0.34%; net profit attributable to shareholders excluding non-recurring items was RMB 3.730 billion, down 12.71%; net operating cash flow was RMB 1.987 billion, down 53.80%. R&D spending was RMB 4.605 billion, up 18.96%, or 29.8% of revenue. Innovative drug sales were RMB 8.809 billion, up 16.38%, or 63.16% of drug sales. Out-licensing collaboration income recognized in the period was RMB 1.422 billion, mainly from the 2025 collaboration with GSK.

This is a company with slightly declining revenue and pressured profits, but no slowdown in R&D. In this state, any new molecule consuming resources has to answer "why this one".

On public registries there are 13 studies related to SHR-1819, covering six directions: adult atopic dermatitis, adolescent atopic dermatitis, atopic dermatitis in children aged 6 months to 5 years, prurigo nodularis, chronic spontaneous urticaria and seasonal allergic rhinitis. There are also two Phase 1 studies in healthy volunteers, one of which (NCT04772365) is registered with the condition label asthma, but its title and eligibility criteria show the subjects were healthy people — it was an early PK and safety exploration aimed at the asthma direction, not a study in asthma patients.

Of these 13, 12 are in China; the only overseas study was a Phase 1 in healthy volunteers in Australia in 2020. All pivotal studies were completed in China, with no US/European data package.

StudyDesign & enrollmentMilestone
Adult AD Phase 3 · NCT06468956652 patientsCompleted 2026-08-26 · positive topline announced, quantitative results not disclosed
Adult AD Phase 2 · NCT05549947157 patients · 22 centersPublished in BMC Medicine
Adult AD Phase 2 (second study) · NCT07321951201 patients · three dose arms, 24-week endpointStarted 2026-01
Adolescent AD Phase 3 · NCT07309055Planned 201 patientsStarted 2026-03, expected 2027-11
Prurigo nodularis Phase 2/3 · NCT06554509Planned 423 patientsStarted 2024-09, expected 2028-10
Seasonal allergic rhinitis Phase 3 · NCT07688772Planned 196 patientsStarted 2026-08, expected 2026-12
Delivery device bioavailability Phase 1 · NCT07264335160 subjectsCompleted 2026-06
Pediatric (6 months–5 years) AD—Clinical trial approval obtained May 2026

SHR-1819 key studies (registry basis, retrieved 2026-09-04); expected completion dates are registrant-entered estimates, not data release dates.

04

The global benchmark: a very high ceiling, but the window doesn't belong to latecomers

In its announcement, Hengrui cited EvaluatePharma data: combined 2025 global sales of dupilumab and stapokibart were about US$18.076 billion. On Sanofi's own 2025 annual report basis, dupilumab's global sales were €15.7 billion. This is an extremely large category.

But for the sixth domestic same-target antibody entering Chinese review, this figure has limited reference value. Dupilumab's core US compound patent, after term extension, expires in March 2031, and Sanofi has publicly stated it has an "active defense plan" to extend exclusivity, with numerous formulation and use patents and pending applications. So "the patent is nearing expiry" cannot be equated directly with "the global competitive window has opened" or "has closed" — it only indicates that over the coming years the global market will face a double squeeze from biosimilars and new molecules, and a sixth-ranked product with only a Chinese data package will have limited bargaining power in that squeeze.

The more realistic judgment is: SHR-1819's overseas value can only be realized through regional licensing, and more likely in markets driven mainly by price competition rather than the main US/European markets.

05

China registration and payment: a clean path, but no shortcuts

From a registration standpoint this is a tidy product: the Phase 3 used internationally standard dual primary endpoints with 652 patients, complemented by a 157-patient dose-finding Phase 2 and a 79-patient open-label extension, giving a structurally complete data package. The marketing application has been accepted and entered the review channel.

What needs restraint is not reading "tidy" as "safe". To date there has been no notice of Breakthrough Therapy Designation or priority review, which supports saying "the launch timeline should not be built on an assumption of expedited review"; but Phase 3 quantitative results, CMC data and on-site inspection status are not yet visible, so saying "regulatory uncertainty is very low" is premature.

What is truly certain is the payment timeline. The NRDL application window usually closes mid-year, and Phase 3 only wrapped up on August 26, 2026 with the marketing application accepted on September 4 — meaning SHR-1819 can take part in negotiations in 2027 at the earliest, with NRDL coverage possible only from 2028. For its first period on the market, it will have to compete for prescriptions through out-of-pocket or commercial insurance payment in a market where a competitor is already on the NRDL at a price about 30% below the originator.

There are two relatively open registration lanes. One is younger populations: the adolescent Phase 3 started in March 2026, and clinical trial approval for children aged 6 months to 5 years was obtained in May 2026. Precision is needed here — dupilumab is already approved in China for moderate-to-severe atopic dermatitis in patients aged 6 months and older, and young children are themselves dosed every four weeks, so the appropriate statement is "no domestic same-target product yet covers this age group", not "no competitor covers it".

The other is indications with no domestic same-target product approved yet: a seamless Phase 2/3 design in prurigo nodularis is under way, and clinical trial approval for chronic spontaneous urticaria has been obtained (no public registry record seen for the latter). The cost is time — the expected primary completion for the prurigo nodularis study is October 2028, and that is only the registry estimate, not the data release date.

06

How China's commercial platform amplifies this product

The asset logic of a company like Hengrui is precisely that the molecule may not be the strongest, but the commercial platform can turn a middling molecule into decent revenue. The question is whether that lever can be applied directly to this product.

The answer: not directly.

Hengrui's commercial strengths are concentrated in three lines: oncology, anesthesia and contrast agents. Biologic prescribing for moderate-to-severe atopic dermatitis is concentrated in tertiary hospital dermatology departments; prurigo nodularis and chronic urticaria are also in dermatology; seasonal allergic rhinitis is in ENT and allergy departments. These departments basically do not overlap with Hengrui's existing positions, and public materials show no marketed blockbuster of Hengrui's in dermatology/immunology that could be leveraged for amplification.

In other words, this is closer to "opening up a new department" than "adding one more product to an existing position". The commercial platform lever requires additional investment to build; it is not ready-made.

The good news is that this investment is not made for one product alone. Type 2 inflammation spans dermatology, ENT, and respiratory and allergy departments, and the six indication directions SHR-1819 is pursuing cover most of them; once built, the team can be used repeatedly for later indications and later molecules. From this angle, it is more like buying a pass into the type 2 inflammation race than buying a high-return single product.

This also determines how the revenue model should be built: the NRDL price anchor is set, competitors are dense, and there is no NRDL coverage in the first year of launch — peak sales should be modeled as "low price, high penetration, stacked indications", not on an innovative drug premium. Three things truly determine the revenue curve: how many indications can be stacked on the label, the pace at which each indication enters the NRDL, and retention on long-term therapy.

On retention there is an observable move: in June 2026 Hengrui completed a 160-subject delivery device bioavailability study comparing a prefilled syringe with another delivery device. This proves that device development is progressing, but is not enough to conclude that there will eventually be a home self-administration option — the registry labels the second arm the "Artificial Intelligence (AI) Group", which in a delivery device context is very likely an erroneous expansion of the abbreviation for auto-injector, so the registry wording itself is unreliable. One sentence in Hengrui's acceptance announcement better illustrates its intent: "The core demand in clinical treatment of atopic dermatitis has gradually shifted to the dual need for both higher response rates and better dosing convenience."

07

Manufacturing and portfolio position

Manufacturing is not a bottleneck. SHR-1819 is a conventional humanized IgG monoclonal antibody, with no conjugate linker ownership issues, no nucleic acid delivery system and none of the supply chain complexity of cell therapy; Hengrui already has multiple biologics marketed in China, and its manufacturing and quality systems for commercial monoclonal antibodies are in place. It should be noted that public materials do not disclose this product's specific manufacturing site, capacity or inspections; the above judgment is inferred from the company's scale and the modality. The delivery device supplier has not been disclosed either, and a single device supplier is a common hidden risk point for such products.

On portfolio position, Hengrui has completed 13 overseas licensing deals since 2023, with a potential total value of about US$42 billion. A common framing error needs flagging here: US$42 billion is the sum of the milestone caps of all deals, not money received; out-licensing collaboration income actually recognized in the first half of 2026 was RMB 1.422 billion.

The largest was the July 2025 collaboration with GSK: HRS-9821 received an exclusive worldwide license excluding Greater China, plus up to 11 option programs, with upfront payments totaling US$500 million and a total value of about US$12 billion if all options are exercised and milestones achieved, covering respiratory, immunology/inflammation and oncology; Hengrui leads development through Phase 1 and retains Greater China rights.

SHR-1819 is not on the public list for that deal; the announcement did not name any IL-4Rα asset, and the option programs are structured as "Hengrui leads through Phase 1", which does not match in design a product that has completed Phase 3. But the list of option programs has not been made public, so one can only say: the ownership of this asset's overseas rights has not been publicly confirmed; one can neither assert that they "have been licensed out" nor that they are "fully retained".

From a portfolio governance perspective, the R&D budget is not the constraint — first-half R&D spending was RMB 4.605 billion, up nearly 19% — the real constraint is priority. Cumulative R&D investment of RMB 385.7 million is mid-to-low for Hengrui's scale, and its competitors for resources are not other molecules in the same therapeutic area but the oncology and metabolic lines. It is closer to "routine progression" than a "key bet".

08

Five priority actions

1

When Phase 3 quantitative results are disclosed, release dose, dosing interval and steady-state PK together

The Phase 2 paper already recommended 300 mg every two weeks and 600 mg every four weeks for Phase 3, but the paper also attributed the numerical advantage of the every-four-weeks arm to random fluctuation from the small sample. This means whether "every four weeks" can stand up depends entirely on the Phase 3 quantitative results and steady-state exposure data. If only response rates are published while dodging the dosing interval, the market will assume it is just another every-two-weeks product in the class.

2

Concentrate resources on younger populations and indications not yet covered domestically, rather than fighting a price war in adult atopic dermatitis

Moderate-to-severe atopic dermatitis in adults already has one domestic product on the NRDL and at least four domestic products under review; a later entrant can only compete on price here. Meanwhile children aged 6 months to 5 years, prurigo nodularis and chronic spontaneous urticaria have no domestic same-target product approved yet — note "no domestic", as the originator has already occupied the young-children slot.

3

Budget the first year after launch as "no NRDL coverage", and set up commercial insurance and patient assistance in advance

At the earliest it can join the 2027 negotiations with coverage from 2028, leaving a real gap in between while the competitor opposite is already on the list. First-year uptake expectations should be set conservatively, with resources placed in commercial insurance channels, dual-channel pharmacies and adherence management rather than chasing prescription volume.

4

Set up the dermatology and allergy team as a separate project, and account for it as "shared across products"

Calculating the input and output of building a team for this one product alone will most likely not add up. The right approach is to treat it as infrastructure investment in the type 2 inflammation race, amortized across later indications and later molecules — which also means the company needs to be clear at project initiation about what follows behind, otherwise this team will become a single-product cost burden.

5

Hold the overseas rights as an option; don't rush to negotiate

All pivotal studies were completed in China with no US/European data package; the global market will face a squeeze from both biosimilars and new molecules over the coming years. Negotiating now with adult atopic dermatitis alone can only close at a discount. The more realistic approach is to wait for prurigo nodularis or chronic urticaria data to bundle the indications into a package, while prioritizing price-competition-driven regions such as Southeast Asia, the Middle East and Latin America.

09

Finally

This is a very well executed project. Enrolling 652 patients in Phase 3 in 26 months, 13 studies covering six indication directions, all three age groups rolled out, device bridging completed in advance, and only 9 days between Phase 3 completion and acceptance of the marketing application — these are capabilities only large pharma companies have, and Hengrui's genuine strengths. The only thing a latecomer can compress is time, and Hengrui has truly done that.

But execution cannot solve a positioning problem. When this molecule entered the review channel, standing ahead of it were one domestic product on the NRDL and at least four domestic products under review, while the originator still holds the full age range from 6 months to adults. Pricing has been negotiated, a department has to be built from scratch, and NRDL coverage is two more years away.

Three milestones are worth watching next: first, Phase 3 quantitative results and the final filed dosing regimen — which determine whether "every four weeks" can become differentiation on the label; second, the pace of review and any signs of an expedited pathway; third, the seasonal allergic rhinitis Phase 3 readout around December 2026, the nearest incremental signal.

Until these three things happen, the most honest description of this product is: an entry ticket that is two years late but still has to be bought — and the sixth one at that.

“Until these three things happen, the most honest description of this product is: an entry ticket that is two years late but still has to be bought — and the sixth one at that.”

Data & Sources

Data basis: marketing application acceptance information, Phase 3 conclusions, R&D investment and global sales figures are from the original text of Hengrui's "Announcement on Acceptance of a Marketing Authorization Application" disclosed on September 4, 2026 (No. Lin 2026-136, dated September 3, 2026); clinical study phases, enrollment, start/end dates and site distribution are from ClinicalTrials.gov public registrations (retrieved September 4, 2026), with expected completion dates being registrant-entered estimates, not data release dates; Phase 2 efficacy, safety, pharmacodynamics and dose recommendations are from the full text of the paper published in BMC Medicine in 2026; Phase 1 PK data are from a 2024 paper in Clinical and Translational Science; company financial data are from Hengrui's 2026 interim report summary; collaboration terms are from GSK's official press release of July 28, 2025; competitor acceptance and approval information is from company announcements and public reports. Wherever the text says "not disclosed", "not seen" or "not publicly confirmed", the information genuinely could not be found through public channels and no gaps were filled by inference. Information as of September 4, 2026. This article is an independent analysis based on public information and does not constitute investment advice.